SHS Wall of Fame

Sunnyside High School Alumni Wall of Fame

From astronauts to senators to doctors, Sunnyside High School and the Sunnyside School District proudly recognize alumni who have demonstrated high levels of achievement in their profession, served the community or country in a significant way or exhibited leadership, character, and service in their profession or community. 

Nominations can be completed online using the Online Nomination Form, or using the printed Nomination Form, which is available here or can be picked up at the Sunnyside School District Office, located at 1110 S. 6th Street, Sunnyside, WA 98944. The form can be turned in there or mailed to the same address to ATTN: Communications Department.

If you need assistance accessing this document, please contact the Communications Department at 509-836-8703.

Congratulations are in order for Sunnyside High School Alumni Wall of Fame inductees Roy Anciso (Class of 1975) and Diana Blumer-Kilian (Class of 1986).

Roy's service to this community started at an early age with his volunteer capacity as a reserve officer with the Sunnyside Police Department. He is one of Washington state's longest serving city councilmen, having held his position on the Sunnyside City Council for 22 years, and most recently has taken on a role ensuring our Sunnyside School District students have safe transportation to and from school as transportation coordinator.

Diana has served thousands of students in her roles as both a middle and high school counselor, supporting their efforts to achieve their graduation goals and achieve success in their lives after high school. The impact she has had in helping them stay on track, find the resources to attend college, and encouraging parents through difficult situations will be felt for generations of Sunnyside families.

Students in the Sunnyside High School Leadership Class took time this past December to read through all the nominations and score the based on three criteria that was demonstrated in the nomination packet: Leadership and Character, Service to the Community, and Professional Achievement. 

The inductees will be honored on October 7, 2022 at the Wall of Fame banquet, then recognized before the Sunnyside community prior to tip-off of the SHS Football game. 


Previous SHS Wall of Fame Inductees

Joann Wilson Matthiesen (1958) Commander Dennis M. Egan (1968)
Arlos E. Waggoner (1955) William D. Aiken (1941)
Rolando Loera (1972) Dr. Rodney Welsh Sr. (1923)
Lloyd R. Lichty (1943) Carolyn Garrison Williams (1971)
Elaine Padgham Cullen (1968) Gary D. Kobes (1963)
Arthur M. Ledesma (1972) Thomas H. Murfin (1933)
Lynette Bagley Rodriguez (1960) John S. Crawford (1946)
Lenny Van Pelt (1977) Bob Hall (1958)
Loran A. Haworth (1964) Chris Shearer (1978)
Dana Toomey (1964) Gary Baze (1974)
Dr. Elizabeth R. Hall (1932) John E. Drysdale (1943)
Dr. Erasmo Gamboa (1960) Dr. Jose L. Loera (1974)
Raymond A. Johnson (1950) David Marquez (1959)
Honorable Dale M. Green (1940) Rosco Sheller (1907)
Davey Hazzard (1967) William L. Gant (1959)
Ronald R. Koch (1956) James M. Chambers (1959)
Colonel Ray L. Rider (1956) Dr. Delores R. Fadness-Tadlock (1961)
Douglas G. Thomas (1958) Christopher J. Golob (1976)
Donald S. Hughes (1939) Fredrick Kilian (1938)
Richard Manjarrez (1963) Sen. Jim Honeyford (1957)
Irving Newhouse (1936) Joanne Kilian (1953)
Dr. Richard M. HighSmith Jr. (1938) Mario Villanueva (1969)
Dr. Bonnie Dunbar-Sega (1967) Doug Seebeck (1974)
Dr. Wilma Vice-Smith (1954) Harry Pryde (1948)
Patricia Cosper Brandes (1950) James Bell (1982)
Dr. Wilbert E. Fordyce (1941) Patricia Loera (1986)
John C. Kassebaum (1922) Joe Baze (1951)
Leonard W. Barlow (1952) Severiano "Chico" Rodriquez (1966)
Dr. Dale E. Miller (1955) Dan Newhouse (1973)
Jake Kupp(1959) Linda Roberts (1971)
Dr. Hiroshi Furukawa (1936) Karst Brandsma (1972)
Joan Wilson Mathiesen (1958) Jim Cornelison (1982)
Colonel M. Jean Chambers (1957) Tim Graff (1970)
Marjorie Severyns Ravenholt (1937) Teri Alavarez-Ziegler (1982)
Terrence C. Burke (1960) Mischa Plesha (1989)
Donald K. Fronek (1955) Jerri Honeyford (1958)
Jerry E. Taylor (1923) Donald H. Bond (1947)
Catherine Combelic Mears (1961) Norman A. Anderson (1956)
Kevin Williams (1975)
Honorable Ray E. Munson (1945)
Dr. Richard L. Stroup (1961)
Scott Linehan (1982)
Donald H. Bond (1947)
Samuel Ramos (1988)
Kevin Williams (1975)
Fred Boboth (1972)
Fidel Partida (1985)
Jean Hart Morris (1959)
Ken Jernberg (1966)
Julie Benjert McGowen (1990)
Daniel Clement (1962)
Ann Furukawa Dondero (1962)
Roger Hazzard (1985) Martina Martinez Castle Charvet (1961)
Roy Anciso (1975) Diana Blumer-Kilian (1986)
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.